Dr. Dylan Taylor

Dr. Taylor completed his undergraduate and medical education at the University of Alberta, following which he undertook post-graduate training at Dalhousie University, the University of Alberta and the University of Ottawa.  He joined the Division of Cardiology at the University of Alberta and has served the Division as Director of the Cardiology Residency Program, Co-Director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratories, and Director of the Adult Echocardiography Laboratories.  He also served the profession nationally as a member of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Cardiology Examination Board, Chair of Cardiology Specialty Committee for the Royal College and Chair of the Professional Development Committee for the Canadian Cardiovascular Society. 

He has been nominated for, and received, many local and national teaching awards during his career.  These have included the Canadian Cardiovascular Society Distinguished Teacher Award, the Clinical Teacher Award from the Professional Association of Residents of Alberta, and the Norman Davies Memorial Cardiology Teacher of the Year Award from the University of Alberta.

Dr. Taylor was appointed co-Facility Medical Director at the University of Alberta Hospitals in 2004.  The University of Alberta Hospitals complex includes the University of Alberta Hospital, the Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute and the Kaye Edmonton Clinic.  He completed the Executive Training for Research Application (EXTRA) Fellowship with the Canadian Health Services Research Foundation in 2007.  His project evaluated methods to increase the involvement of specialist physicians in the planning and development of the Kaye Edmonton Clinic, which opened in 2012.  He was appointed Associate Zone Medical Director for the Edmonton Zone of Alberta Health Services in 2010.

  • Company:Alberta Health Services
  • Short Bio:Co-Facility Medical Director, University of Alberta Hospital, Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute, Kaye Edmonton Clinic, Associate Zone Medical Director, Edmonton Zone
Go back